Library Information, New books

New to the Library: Hughes Hall 1885-2010 by Ged Martin

Hughes Hall has long had strong links with the Faculty of Education and its predecessors. The beautifully illustrated book, Hughes Hall, Cambridge, 1885-2010 by Ged Martin traces the history of Cambridge’s oldest graduate college from its foundation in 1885 as the Cambridge Training College for Women Teachers to the present day. Initially there were only 14 students together with  Elizabeth Phillips Hughes, the principal,  and the College began life in Crofton Cottages in Newnham. How it eventually became a full college of the University, receiving its Royal Charter in 2006, is a fascinating story which covers 125 years of Cambridge history.

Advertisements