Guest blog posts

Harriet’s Work Experience

IMG_0601

The Education Faculty Library Team have had the pleasure of hosting Harriet for her Year 10 work experience placement during the last two weeks. We have very much enjoyed showing Harriet the different ways that we support our varied student community and we are thrilled with the window display she has created to reflect and promote our library services.

Harriet has written the following guest post about her time with us.

My work experience in the Education Faculty Library at Cambridge University has been a very enjoyable one. I have not had a day go by where I haven’t had something to do. I have been on visits to other University College and Faculty libraries (Homerton College, Medical Library, Betty & Gordon Moore, English Faculty Library) and by doing this I was able to compare how different libraries are run.

IMG_0584

Also, during my time here, I created a number of things including a summer reading list display, advertising for new books and a window display promoting digital resources via the Library’s Moodle site (which included a giant sandcastle) to support students over the summer holidays. On one of the days I was joined by a work experience student from the Betty Gordon Moore Library and she helped me in creating my summer reads list and then arrange it on display.

IMG_0553

I was also given the chance to give this student a tour of the Education Library which helped me to improve my knowledge of the collection and also get more used to where everything was. I have learnt many things here as I have gone along, mostly by watching and shadowing the team, but I have thoroughly enjoyed it all. I have always felt like a part of the team and have grown in confidence the whole time I’ve been here. I feel that I will take the skills I have learnt with me and use throughout the rest of my time in school and then continue to use once I have left school. Librarianship is a career that I would consider doing but there are so many different roles around that I am also intrigued to look into how they differ from one another, such as librarians in schools, public libraries as well as academic and medical libraries.

Overall, my Work Experience has been a great opportunity and I am glad that I was able to spend it here at the Education Faculty Library.

 

As well as a guest blogger, we invited Harriet to showcase her time at the Library with an Instagram takeover to report on her varied experiences. Please do read Harriet’s Instagram diary  #HarrietsWex

We would like to thank Harriet very much for all her hard work and wish her all the best for the future.

 

